George Mason 1802- missing from 1841 census (General)

by Lolly @, South Wales, Wednesday, June 17, 2020, 14:40 (1402 days ago)

Hi,
I'm a newbie- stumbled across this site when I googled an ancestor and it brought me to this site on another thread. It's fantastic !
Looking for a little help if possible please....

I'm looking for George MASON, b 1802, East Dean. Married Lydia Jones b 1803, Ruardean.
They had 4 children that I can find.. Thomas 1829, Lydia and Charlotte (twins) 1830 and Rebecca 1834.
I cannot find any of them on the 1841 census and was wondering if anyone could give me any clues as to where I may be going wrong.
I have found George, Lydia and the children other than Charlotte on the 1851 etc.
Thanks in advance
Laura

George Mason 1802- missing from 1841 census

by sidtoomey01 @, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia, Friday, June 19, 2020, 02:27 (1401 days ago) @ Lolly

Hi Laura
Welcome to the Forum.
Unfortunately I cant help you with your 1841 Census request. They just aren't recorded on the two Census districts for Ruardean in 1841 although the Census Enumerators handwriting is very "flowery" and hard to follow.
Looking at an Ordnance Survey Map of the district published in 1883 it is full of quarries and collieries both used and disused so i guess there would have been plenty of places for your "quarryman" to work.
Looking at daughter Rebecca's baptism record , the family were living at Ruardean Woodside in 1833
and in 1851 Census the family were living at Ruardean Hill so based on this information they would have probably have been somewhere in this area as both places are close together.

Do you have much information on the family before George and also the children's marriages etc ?
e.g. I believe daughter Lydia married a Joseph Whittington in 1854. Rebecca Mason was a witness.
also
Rebecca looks like she married a quarryman George Mason in 1860.