Merriman family (Parish Records)

by Debbielakin, Friday, July 29, 2016, 07:53 (2826 days ago)

I'm trying to trace my family tree, Ann Jane Merriman is my 2nd great grandmother and I wondered how common the name Merriman is? I believe her father was Henry Merriman and her grandfather Samuel Merriman. Ann J was born in Cinderford in 1851 and died in Haworth Yorkshire in 1918. She married a James Thomas in The cinderford area. I'm new to this so would welcome any help and advice. Many thanks

Merriman family

by grahamdavison @, Friday, July 29, 2016, 09:39 (2826 days ago) @ Debbielakin

The Gloucestershire Births, Marriages & Deaths(BMDs) show that Ann Jane Merriman was born in the Forest of Dean in 1850 and that her mother`s maiden name was Elton.

A search of the parish register database then shows the following marriage:
Record_ID 13578
Entry_Number 107
Year 1847
Month Jul
Day 26
Grooms_Surname MERRYMAN
Grooms_Forenames Henry
Grooms_Age full
Groom_Condition Bachelor
Grooms_Occupation collier
Grooms_Residence Newnham
Grooms_Fathers_Surname Merryman
Grooms_Fathers_Forenames Samuel
Grooms_Fathers_Occupation labourer
Brides_Surname ELTON
Brides_Forenames Esther
Brides_Age full
Brides_Condition Spinster
Brides_Occupation dressmaker
Brides_Residence Newnham
Brides_Fathers_Surname Elton
Brides_Fathers_Forenames John
Brides_Fathers_Occupation collier
Licence_or_Banns Banns
Date_of_Banns
Signature_or_Mark he marks she signs
Witness_1 [..] Clarke
Witness_2 Mary Hawkins
Other_Witnesses
Officiating_Minister E.C. Brice perp.curate
Event Marriage
Memoranda
Notes
Register_Reference P228 IN 1/13
Page_Number 54
Parish_Chapel Newnham
Soundex_Groom M655
Soundex_Bride E435

As yet I have not been able to find An Jane`s baptism.

Merriman family

by Debbielakin, Friday, July 29, 2016, 10:48 (2826 days ago) @ grahamdavison

Thank you for this

Merriman family

by Mike Pinchin @, Bedford, England, Friday, July 29, 2016, 10:16 (2826 days ago) @ Debbielakin