Thomas Gwinnett marriage to Hesther Morrice 1743 (Parish Records)

by sidtoomey01 @, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia, Thursday, November 05, 2020, 04:03 (1262 days ago) @ Susan_King

Hi

This message is about another source which sometimes provides information to help with finding out more detail of where an Ancestor lived in the UK. I am still learning how to get the most out of it so you will have to forgive me if i send you up a deadens.

https://www.gloucestershire.gov.uk/archives/finding-items-in-our-collections/tithe-appo...

This is the Tithe Apportionments Data Base for Gloucestershire. My limited understanding is that in the 1830/40's in Britain laws were passed which would allow the "Tithes" to be paid on land by cash rather than by crops etc as was the practice historically. To achieve this new Tithe Maps were drawn up showing every plot of land together with improvements where this would apply. The apportionments are the written lists of landowners and occupiers for those plots together with a description and a plot number which can be used to find the plot on the Tithe Map. (The Tithe maps are found on Know Your Place- Gloucestershire which i described in my previous message. Note that the Tithe maps do not appear for all areas of Gloucestershire. This is the case in the example i am using today)
When you log in to the above link you should see a page where on the right hand side there is a link "Tithe Apportionments". Click on this and it should take you to a search page.
Enter "Gwinnett" into the occupier box and hit search.
You should then get two Gwinnetts. Both of them outside the Forest of Dean.
The first one i have used as the example and this should hold for any searches you do for your Morrice/Morris forebears in Barnwood.
Plot No. 848 ,George Gwinnett, Cottage and Garden 1 rood 18 perches with Mary Lamb as the owner.

Next, a search of "Know your place-Gloucestershire" will give you an OS Map for the 1840's and later but no tithe map.